Skip to main content of this page

Please enable JavaScript to use the website of the Tokyo Metropolitan Government.

January 7, 2021
Bureau of Olympic and Paralympic Games
Tokyo 2020 Preparation
Tokyo Metropolitan Government

Postponement of the Exhibition of the Olympic and Paralympic Games Tokyo 2020 Torches in Municipalities in Tokyo

On 4 January 2021, the Tokyo Metropolitan Government and three neighboring prefectures have announced emergency measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19. As part of these measures, the Tokyo Metropolitan Government (TMG) has decided to postpone the exhibition of the Olympic and Paralympic Games Tokyo 2020 torches announced on 23 October 2020 in some municipalities to reduce the flow of people and the further spread of COVID-19.

1. Postponed Exhibitions

Thursday 7 January – Friday 8 January 2021 Akiruno City
Thursday 14 January – Friday 15 January 2021 Fussa City
Monday 18 January – Tuesday 19 January 2021 Musashimurayama City
Thursday 21 January – Friday 22 January 2021 Tachikawa City
Monday 25 January – Tuesday 26 January 2021 Kunitachi City
Thursday 28 January – Friday 29 January 2021 Kokubunji City

*See the appendix(PDF:57KB) for more details about the exhibition schedule.
*If a state of emergency is declared by the national government, based on the Basic Policies for Novel Coronavirus Disease Control, other exhibitions may also be postponed. In the event of postponements, schedule changes will be announced on the official website of the Bureau of Olympic and Paralympic Games Tokyo 2020 Preparation and by other means.

2. Rescheduling of Postponed Exhibitions

Rescheduled exhibitions will be announced on the above-mentioned official website, SNS and on other platforms.

Please click here for the original Japanese press release.

CONTACT & INQUIRIES (Assistance in Japanese only)
Planning and Coordination Section, General Affairs Division
Bureau of Olympic and Paralympic Games Tokyo 2020 Preparation
Phone: 03-5388-2248

Return to top of page